Summer Camp

MRC’s summer camp sessions are designed to inspire and educate our youth about the importance of the Indian River Lagoon. We offer a variety of hands-on activities for kids ages 8–12 that allow campers to discover the connection between science and nature in the world around them. Check out the Exploration Schedule* below!

You may register up to 3 campers per form. Each session is limited to 20 campers.

For each day of camp, campers should wear closed-toed shoes, a thick layer of sunscreen, and clothes to get dirty/wet in. Please have your camper bring a lunch and a reusable water bottle.

Due to the concerns of COVID-19, we are continuing to implement extra precautions to ensure a safe and healthy environment for our campers. Before coming to the first day of camp, please discuss proper hand hygiene, respiratory etiquette, and the importance of physical distancing with your child. We also ask parents/guardians to assess the health of your child daily and to please notify us immediately if your child has any of the following symptoms (cough, shortness of breath, fever, chills, muscle pain, sore throat, new loss of taste or smell, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea). More information regarding COVID procedures will be sent to your email address prior to camp.

*Topics, activities, and field trips are subject to change.


Session 1 — Mini to Macro

June 7–11, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of animal exploration! This week’s focus will be on mini to macro animals. We will be learning about and examining the tiniest creatures in the Lagoon ecosystem all the way up to the largest!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Seining Lab 2
Monday, June 7: Mighty Microplankton and Sensational Shellfish
Tuesday, June 8: Feisty Fishes
Wednesday, June 9: Reptile Repin’
Thursday, June 10: Marine Macro Mania!
Friday, June 11: Field Trip: Brevard Zoo

Session 2: Home Is Your Habitat

June 14–18, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of habitat exploration! This week’s focus will be on the diverse habitats that make up Florida and how they lend a hand to the incredible native species that call our state home. Travel with us as we explore the shoreline to the pine flatwoods on this weeklong adventure!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Seining
Monday, June 14 — Forests Are Friends
Tuesday, June 15 — Scrub: More Than Just Saw Palmettos and Snakes!
Wednesday, June 16 — Wonderful Wetlands
Thursday, June 17 — Field Trip: Erna Nixon Park, Corals: Rainforests of the Sea
Friday, June 18 — Field Trip: Sebastian Inlet State Park

Session 3: Earth to Sky

June 21–25, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of Earth nad space exploration! This week’s focus will be from the center of the Earth all the way up into our solar system. We will be learning about the very formation of the Earth, the ecosystems found on Earth, and our position in the solar system!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Discoveries
Monday, June 21 — Geology Rocks
Tuesday, June 22 — Wicked Weather
Wednesday, June 23 — Ocean Currents
Thursday, June 24 — To Infinity and Beyond!
Friday, June 25 — Field Trip: Kennedy Space Center

Session 4: Florida Past, Present, and Future

June 28–July 2, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of time exploration! This week’s focus will be on the history of Florida and where we are going next! From indigenous peoples to early settlers and the space race, join us as we learn about how the Florida today came to be and where it may go.

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Excavation
Monday, June 28 — Ais Spy
Tuesday, June 29 — Field Trip: Brevard Museum of History and Natural Sciences
Wednesday, June 30 — Space Race
Thursday, July 1 — Human Havoc
Friday, July 2 — Field Trip: Spoil Islands, Florida’s Future

Session 5: Mini to Macro

July 5–9, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of animal exploration! This week’s focus will be on mini to macro animals. We will be learning about and examining the tiniest creatures in the Lagoon ecosystem all the way up to the largest!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Seining
Monday, July 5: Mighty Microplankton and Sensational Shellfish
Tuesday, July 6: Feisty Fishes
Wednesday, July 7: Reptile Repin’
Thursday, July 8: Marine Macro Mania!
Friday, July 9: Field Trip: Brevard Zoo

Session 6: Home is your Habitat

July 12–16, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of habitat exploration! This week’s focus will be on the diverse habitats that make up Florida and how they lend a hand to the incredible native species that call our state home. Travel with us as we explore the shoreline to the pine flatwoods on this weeklong adventure!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Water Test
Monday, July 12 — Forests Are Friends
Tuesday, July 13 — Scrub: More Than Just Saw Palmettos and Snakes!
Wednesday, July 14 — Wonderful Wetlands
Thursday, July 15 — Field Trip: Erna Nixon Park, Corals: Rainforests of the Sea
Friday, July 16 — Field Trip: Sebastian Inlet State Park

Session 7: Earth to Sky

July 19–23, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of Earth and space exploration! This week’s focus will be from the center of the Earth all the way up into our solar system. We will be learning about the very formation of the Earth, the ecosystems found on Earth, and our position in the solar system!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Seining Lab 1
Monday, July 19 — Geology Rocks
Tuesday, July 20 — Wicked Weather
Wednesday, July 21 — Ocean Currents
Thursday, July 22 — To Infinity and Beyond!
Friday, July 23 — Field Trip: Kennedy Space Center

Session 8: Florida Past, Present, and Future

July 26–30, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of time exploration! This week’s focus will be on the history of Florida and where we are going next! From indigenous peoples to early settlers and the space race, join us as we learn about how the Florida today came to be and where it may go.

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

MRC Summer Camp Seining Critters
Monday, July 26 — Ais Spy
Tuesday, July 27 — Field Trip: Brevard Museum of History and Natural Sciences
Wednesday, July 28 — Space Race
Thursday, July 29 — Human Havoc
Friday, July 30 — Field Trip: Spoil Islands, Florida’s Future

Upon completion of registration a waiver/photo release form will be included in your confirmation email. The waiver/photo release form will need to be completed and returned on the first day of camper, otherwise your camper will not be able to participate.