Summer Camp 2021

Summer camp is our favorite time of year! Every year, our summer camp sessions are designed to inspire and educate our youth about the importance of the Indian River Lagoon. We offer a variety of hands-on activities that allow campers to discover the connection between science and nature in the world around them.

For information on next summer’s camps, please contact Nicole Broquet, MRC’s Director of Education. Or check back in Spring 2021 for next summer’s camp!

Here’s What MRC Offered at Our 2020 Summer Camps!

Session 1 — Mini to Macro

June 7–11, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be on mini to macro animals. We will be learning about and examining the tiniest creatures in the Lagoon ecosystem all the way up to the largest!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Seining Lab 2
Monday, June 7: Mighty Microplankton and Sensational Shellfish
Tuesday, June 8: Feisty Fishes
Wednesday, June 9: Reptile Repin’
Thursday, June 10: Marine Macro Mania!
Friday, June 11: Field Trip: Brevard Zoo

Session 2: Home Is Your Habitat

June 14–18, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be on the diverse habitats that make up Florida and how they lend a hand to the incredible native species that call our state home. Travel with us as we explore the shoreline to the pine flatwoods on this weeklong adventure!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Seining
Monday, June 14 — Forests Are Friends
Tuesday, June 15 — Scrub: More Than Just Saw Palmettos and Snakes!
Wednesday, June 16 — Wonderful Wetlands
Thursday, June 17 — Field Trip: Turkey Creek Sanctuary, Corals: Rainforests of the Sea
Friday, June 18 — Field Trip: Sebastian Inlet State Park

Session 3: Earth to Sky

June 21–25, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be from the center of the Earth all the way up into our solar system. We will be learning about the very formation of the Earth, the ecosystems found on Earth, and our position in the solar system!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Discoveries
Monday, June 21 — Wicked Weather
Tuesday, June 22 — Geology Rocks
Wednesday, June 23 — Ocean Currents
Thursday, June 24 — To Infinity and Beyond!
Friday, June 25 — Field Trip: Kennedy Space Center

Session 4: Florida Past, Present, and Future

June 28–July 2, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be on the history of Florida and where we are going next! From indigenous peoples to early settlers and the space race, join us as we learn about how the Florida today came to be and where it may go.

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Excavation
Monday, June 28 — Ais Spy
Tuesday, June 29 — Space Race
Wednesday, June 30 — Human Havoc
Thursday, July 1 — Field Trip: Brevard Museum of History and Natural Sciences
Friday, July 2 — Field Trip: Spoil Islands, Florida’s Future

Session 5: Mini to Macro

July 5–9, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be on mini to macro animals. We will be learning about and examining the tiniest creatures in the Lagoon ecosystem all the way up to the largest!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Seining
Monday, July 5: Mighty Microplankton and Sensational Shellfish
Tuesday, July 6: Feisty Fishes
Wednesday, July 7: Reptile Repin’
Thursday, July 8: Marine Macro Mania!
Friday, July 9: Field Trip: Brevard Zoo

Session 6: Home Is Your Habitat

July 12–16, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be on the diverse habitats that make up Florida and how they lend a hand to the incredible native species that call our state home. Travel with us as we explore the shoreline to the pine flatwoods on this weeklong adventure!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Water Test
Monday, July 12 — Forests Are Friends
Tuesday, July 13 — Scrub: More Than Just Saw Palmettos and Snakes!
Wednesday, July 14 — Wonderful Wetlands
Thursday, July 15 — Field Trip: Turkey Creek Sanctuary, Corals: Rainforests of the Sea
Friday, July 16 — Field Trip: Sebastian Inlet State Park

Session 7: Earth to Sky

July 19–23, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

SESSION FULL. This week’s focus will be from the center of the Earth all the way up into our solar system. We will be learning about the very formation of the Earth, the ecosystems found on Earth, and our position in the solar system!

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Seining Lab 1
Monday, July 19 — Wicked Weather
Tuesday, July 20 — Geology Rocks
Wednesday, July 21 — Ocean Currents
Thursday, July 22 — To Infinity and Beyond!
Friday, July 23 — Field Trip: Kennedy Space Center

Session 8: Florida Past, Present, and Future

July 26–30, 2021 • 9:00 am–3:00 pm

Join us for a week of time exploration! This week’s focus will be on the history of Florida and where we are going next! From indigenous peoples to early settlers and the space race, join us as we learn about how the Florida today came to be and where it may go.

Each day will either have an outdoor activity, science experiment, or arts/crafts project.

SESSION FULL!

MRC Summer Camp Seining Critters
Monday, July 26 — Ais Spy
Tuesday, July 27 — Space Race
Wednesday, July 28 — Human Havoc
Thursday, July 29 — Field Trip: Brevard Museum of History and Natural Sciences
Friday, July 30 — Field Trip: Spoil Islands, Florida’s Future

Waiver

Upon completion of registration a waiver/photo release form will be included in your confirmation email. The waiver/photo release form will need to be completed and returned on the first day of camper, otherwise your camper will not be able to participate.


COVID-19 Related Cancellation/Credit Policy

Camp registration cost is refundable minus a 10% administrative charge if cancellation or change is made two weeks prior to the student’s first day of camp.

If a camper or family member is exposed to COVID-19, please email nicole@mrcirl.org immediately. Camp registration fees will be fully refunded or applied to another day-camp (with negative COVID-19 test).

If MRC camps are cancelled due to a COVID-19 camp direct exposure, potential exposure, and/or for contact tracing reasons, impacted customers will receive a prorated refund or camp credit. For example, if a five-day camp is cancelled due to a direct COVID exposure on Wednesday, customers will be refunded or credited for Thursday and Friday.

It is important to note that based on current health department guidelines, face masks will be required in the Lagoon House and outside when physical distancing is not possible.


Thank You Sponsors!

Auto Parts Direct To You Big Bragger Boat & Motor Superstores Boaters Exchange Brevard Federation of Teachers Gemini Pressure Washing & Painting Miller & Hurt SeaDek Seafood Atlantic Seaventure Clam Co.
Become A Sponsor Today

Please support local businesses that support our Lagoon.